My Cancer Testimonial

    

Driving the Boilermaker Special

 

I was diagnosed with Brain cancer when I was about 2 years old my parents realized that I was constantly sick. It was much more than just the common ear infection or runny nose that an infant gets. I was constantly having headaches and nausea. I was taken to my family doctor at the time who said I was just fine and there is nothing to be worried about. My mom was a nurse and knew something was wrong and got a second opinion. Upon getting the second opinion they told my parents that I had brain cancer.   

They had to make a decision about my procedure; I was given some radiation and Chemotherapy prior to surgery. This was a very risky operation on an infant. I was taken to Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis where I had the operation done by a children doctor. I had the operation done and personally I do not remember much besides I now have a scar that reminds me daily of my battle with cancer. I have been cancer free since 1991 which is going to be going on 20 years without cancer within the next year!  I was very blessed to have survived.   

If you are interested in supporting cancer research go to http://www.thepurduechallenge.com/, where you can donated to cancer research and sign up for the Challenge 5K walk/run that will be held in West Lafayette, Indiana. This is a little about me, the majority of these posts have been about Consumer behavior up to this point. I figured I would change it up a bit and give some background information. 

Leave a Reply

